Ready to Read – back to school 1960’s

My stationery passion was satisfied today big time. I found a bundle of 1960’s readers for junior school (the Primer classes they were called back then) and I remember some of the titles from my 1960’s education. The roles of males and females are so rigidly defined and how monocultural and middle class. I love the illustrations.

image image image

I especially like these later Methuen caption books with their late 60’s vibe with the strong use of line and limited colour palette.

imageimage

Jill McDonald was the illustrator of these – a NZer who moved to England mid 60’s.  She designed the puffin on the spine of Puffin books and also the covers of Puffin Annuals which I remember well.

image

I already had this book – displayed on my bookshelf.

image

Leave a Reply

